Nonverbal Cues

Yesterday I went to Wal-Mart and bought at $25 Timex watch with a black band. I love it.
I have a son-in-law who regularly buys and sells Rolex watches on ebay. One of my
students recently carried this pocketbook that caught my eye because of its giraffe
design. When I complimented her on it, she said it was a Dooney & Burke and that it cost
$240. Hmmm.  I always buy my bags from TJ Maxx and even then, I check for the little
red sticker that says “clearance.” I drive a Toyota Camry instead of an SUV. 

Why am I telling you this? Because I want you to think about your own “object language”
and speculate a bit about what your clothing, jewelry, hairstyle, hair color, shoes, use of
cosmetics (or not), etc. tells the world about you. It’s easy to look at other people
and “read” them, but what about you? What does your appearance tell the world?